Nadeem Aslam: The Golden Legend

Nadeem Aslam is at the top of the list of my favourite authors. This interview has just been posted on the ABC Radio website.

“If you don’t like my books, you won’t like me. I am my books”.
Nadeem Aslam on his latest novel The Golden Legend, inspired by Pakistan’s blasphemy laws.


 

Nadeem Aslam on blasphemy laws in Pakistan:

If you go to the police and say, this person who lives next to me, or a friend of mine, or just this stranger has said something rude about Mohammed. You’re not allowed to repeat what it was. Because then you too would have committed blasphemy. This is such a Kafkaesque situation.

So the people are on death row and nobody’s allowed to say what they actually did.

________________________________

Interview is from here:
http://www.abc.net.au/radionational/programs/booksandarts/nadeem-aslams-the-golden-legend/8472170

This entry was posted in Nadeem Aslam and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nadeem Aslam: The Golden Legend

  1. Marleen says:

    I just bought the audio version of the book, based on your earlier writing.
    I’ve listened to at least one of his books before and appreciated it.

    • Onesimus says:

      I hope you enjoy it. I can’t see why you wouldn’t.
      I have one more of his books to read. Gloria bought me an autographed copy of one of his earlier books for last Christmas and I haven’t had the opportunity to read it yet.

      His signature must be one of the tiniest I’ve ever seen, matched only by Gloria’s.

    • Onesimus says:

      I’ve found that Nadeem Aslam’s books give an interesting insight into cultures that are often ignored (and sometimes demonised) in our own media. I find he has an ability to give a rounded perspective of people and situations rather than the partisan view often presented by one side against another.

Comments are closed.