300!!!

Since I started my “books read” list in November 2009, I’ve read 298 books (as of today).

That means I’m only 2 books away from the triple century milestone and have read an average of 40+ books per year for the past 6-7 years.

Now, what do I do?

Just continue reading and ignore the “significance” of my 300th book? Or do I make sure I hit that target with a book of significance? But what would be a suitably significant book to read as my 300th?

I don’t have much time to make the choice. I’ll be starting book 299 today.

 

books

This entry was posted in Announcement, blogging, books, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 300!!!

    • Onesimus says:

      Thanks Marleen. I started two books yesterday and find myself in an awkward situation, in trying to time the completion of those books to make sure the more “worthy” of them becomes the 300th. That means I’d have to read the less worthy quicker to make sure it doesn’t take the place of honour. But which one would be the less worthy? The one that is most entertaining? Or the one that has the most important “message”?

      And then again: both are quite long, so maybe I’ll find something shorter and quicker to read as well before I complete either of them. Or maybe I’ll finish one of the other books that I started a while ago but still haven’t quite finished…

  1. Marleen says:

    Whichever one is more likely to encourage you to implement your writing ideas…

    • Onesimus says:

      Marleen,
      I think neither of the books I’ve already started will be my 300th. The one with entertainment value seems certain to be no. 299, and I think the other (a non-fiction book) will take too long to read to make it.
      I now have an idea of which book will be the 300th on my list. Its one I had for many years in paperback and later replaced with a hardcover first edition. However, despite owning it for so long, its a book I hadn’t yet made the time to read.
      It definitely meets the worthiness requirement, both in recognised literary merit and in importance of subject.
      I won’t say more at this time.

Comments are closed.