A Golden Age by Tahmima Anam

golden ageI read this over two days during my Christmas break and I’d love to write something that could express how much I enjoyed it. But I wouldn’t want my own expressive shortcomings to diminish anyone’s impression of the book through any “review” I wrote.

The story is set in the early 1970s during the civil war that led to Bangladesh winning independence from Pakistan. A brief glimpse of that time and its human cost is given through the experiences of the Haque family (mother, daughter and son) and their neighbours.
It’s a period of history that I knew nothing about before reading this book, apart from remembering that George Harrison had arranged a benefit concert and album on behalf of Bangladesh when I was a young teen.

I found the book had a slight similarity to the work of Nadeem Aslam, one of my favourite writers, exploring political ambiguities and occasional brutality in a vividly poetic way through an intimate human story.

My disappointment at coming to the end of the book and leaving the lives of the Haques has been tempered by the knowledge that the family story continues in another book The Good Moslem.

The final part of what I’ve heard is intended to be a trilogy has yet to be released.

This entry was posted in books, Historical, politics, Tahmima Anam, War and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Golden Age by Tahmima Anam

  1. Marleen says:

    Yeah. I think that was the first benefit concert (that, arranged by George Harrison) — of all those we now remember, like Farmaid and all the rest.

    That IS good, that you get to go to another book by the author with this same family… and then, eventually, yet another!

  2. Marleen says:

    I bought the Audible Audio version of this, today (last night for me).
    The narrator is the best narrator I’ve heard for a book.

  3. Onesimus says:

    Who does the reading? I think there are two different versions available.

  4. Marleen says:

    Madhur Jaffrey — she has an accent.

Comments are closed.