Tech-knowledgey and the coming hypothetical dark age.

Computers are getting more and more difficult to deal with. Just as you think you’re getting the hang of them they change. The other night I saw a commercial for some computery thing on TV and mentioned to Gloria that I feel the same way about computers as our parents do about DVD players (and previously VCRs).

As simple as it may be to a younger generation, there’s something about advances in technology that seems to exclude older generations. The innate inevitable obsolescence of ever-changing technology is infectious, eventually spreading from the aging hardware to the user.

I have a “theory” that an increasing reliance on ever-changing technology will turn the current era into a historical dark age. If the world continues (and if Jesus doesn’t return for several centuries) the abundance of recorded information from our own time will be inaccessible, effectively non-existent, being stored in forms reliant on unusable ancient technologies. There will be an apparent gap between the age of printed books and whatever means of information storage they may have developed centuries ahead.

Even today, consider all the things stored on computer systems that are no longer viable. For example, the only “existing” copies of my university writings and all of the stories I wrote at that time are on floppy disks, saved from a Commodore 64 computer –  so maybe in my case I should see that aspect of technological obsolescence as a serendipitous blessing.

kindle

This entry was posted in books, Technology, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tech-knowledgey and the coming hypothetical dark age.

  1. Marleen says:

    I know someone who’s an expert in major company computing and storage (of data). He’s commented that a particular company (which I won’t name and don’t know) exemplifies, without hiring/buying specialized service/consulting, businesses trying to do what they’ve normally done just don’t have the know-how to do so. On the low end, this expert has helped me (not a company or business of any sort) clear space from my kindle fire.

  2. Marleen says:

    I really like my kindle fire, but I was getting frustrated. I had only two books downloaded to it, and still on it (had removed all the others from the device that I could). Still, I couldn’t download any more books. I eventually checked online and found that many people were having this problem of not being able to store enough books on their fire (sold to people interested in books even though it does more than books). Like me, they had been able to download a significant number of books and amount of music early on.

    I never did discover if anyone in the online discussions or question-answer go rounds had a solution to offer that worked, but being able to inform the expert that a lot of people were having this problem (and it wasn’t just me)… on top of the fact I wasn’t so much enjoying something I had been very happy with in the beginning… well, this provided motivation to tackle my problem (and have yet another go at it, listening to my experience with the thing I was ready to toss, when the first ideas didn’t do).

    I had liked using my brand new kindle fire so much early on that I also bought a used older kindle, the larger kind; after all, my original interest in kindle had to do with the paper-like display (which the fire doesn’t have)… something I do recommend for outdoor use (although the fire does have an easy way to lower the brightness). But, then, I couldn’t use it because I didn’t know how to get the unit associated with my amazon cloud account instead of that of the person l had bought it from. It’s all figured out now.

Comments are closed.