Hilary Mantel’s memoir (and thoughts of my own) with just a hint of Rushdie

Hilary Mantel is a double winner of the Man Booker Prize, first for Wolf Hall and then for its sequel Bring Up the Bodies. These are the first parts of a trilogy about the life of Thomas Cromwell and his relationship with Henry VIII.

I read Wolf Hall two years ago and included my impressions of the book in an article here *: http://out-shadows.blogspot.co.nz/2011/01/visiting-lady-jane-grey-and-tudor.html

Yesterday I received Bring Up the Bodies, something I’ll have to try to fit into my crowded reading schedule. But it’s another book by Mantel that I’ve been reading over the last few days, a memoir called Giving Up the Ghost.

Giving Up the GhostCompared to the last memoir I read (Salman Rushdie’s Joseph Anton – see note below*) this one is a small book, but it seems to contain far more than its size would suggest. I’m only 2/3 of the way into it, but there has already been a lot to keep me interested. I can identify with a few areas of her experience; from Derbyshire village life in the 1950s-60s (though she’s six years older than me); living in homes that have a “ghostly” presence; to the occasional “tip” for writers. She also has a liking for semi-colons.

The first half of the book recalls her childhood and she is able to create a cohesive narrative out of many fragments of memories.

I occasionally consider writing my own memoir (which at the most may be of interest to future generations of my family) and I can see how my account of childhood would be made up of fragments – just brief glimpses of things I did and saw; a few seconds of a movie playing in my head.

Things like an image of a holiday cottage beside a beach. At that cottage I recall lying in bed between my parents. I must have been under three years old because I was later told that my mum was pregnant with my sister at the time, and she is two years ten months younger than me. I also ecall a walk through the back garden of the cottage to get to the pebbly beach. There are other incidents of this holiday that I don’t remember myself, but I know of them through family conversations over the years. The difference between the actual memories and those recounted anecdotes is in the detail. The memories are snapshots or brief loops of “action”; while the anecdotes have a form of narrative.

In Mantel’s book the most covered part of her childhood is her primary school years and earlier. It is during this period that she gives up her belief in God after a strange unnerving experience in the garden of her home. An experience that she thinks God could have (should have) prevented – and because He didn’t, He couldn’t exist.

Like so many who have given up (or never had) belief in God, the conclusion of His non-existence was formed according to criteria of Mantel’s choosing. God didn’t fulfil her expectations, He didn’t act how she thought He should, and therefore He couldn’t be real.

Joseph AntonA similar thing came up in Salman Rushdie’s memoir, where the child Rushdie concluded God couldn’t exist because He’d never live in such an ugly “house of God” as the church building near his school. And in an interview (and maybe not in the book) Rushdie also told of how (as a “moslem” child) his ability to eat a ham sandwich without being struck down by an angry God gave him further certainty of God’s non-existence.

Surprisingly, the teen years of Mantel’s story are skimmed over in comparison to her pre-teen life. It is that period of my own younger days that I remember most, and my hypothetical memoir would perhaps need a separate volume to cover it.

I have now read up to the start of her adult life; her time at university and her early marriage. And how times have changed – Mantel’s marriage being an economic necessity; home life for two being more affordable than home life for two individuals, and culturally impossible for an unmarried couple to make a home together.

Even as an engaged couple they had difficulty finding “a place together in anticipation of [their] marriage…the landlords demanded certificates …to say that [they] had really booked the priest and registrar”.

I’ve already mentioned the size difference between this memoir and Rushdie’s, but that isn’t the most significant difference. Rushdie keeps a regular journal and that practice clearly helped and shaped the book he wrote. It is largely a straight forward narrative that avoids the playful approach to language and storytelling found in his novels.  Rushdie is getting his story across,  putting right the many false impressions of the “fatwah” years presented by others.

Mantel’s book is one of reflection rather than reporting;  remembering the past from an adult’s perspective, but not just as an adult; she writes as a mature literary writer interpreting her life from a present day vantage point. 

________________________________

*I see that I had a problem with Mantel regularly using the term “he” to describe her main character in a way that made it difficult to determine exactly who was being referred to. That’s a problem I also found in Salman Rushdie’s memoir, where Rushdie continually referred to himself in the third person often making me unsure of whether he was referring to himself or someone else.

This entry was posted in books, Giving Up the Ghost, Hilary Mantel, Joseph Anton, Memoir, Religion, Salman Rushdie, Wolf Hall and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hilary Mantel’s memoir (and thoughts of my own) with just a hint of Rushdie

  1. Marleen says:

    I enjoyed reading this. And thanks for the link back to what you have read and have written about before, which was also interesting to me in this context. So: What biography of Tyndale did you read? Meanwhile, I, too, find curiousity mixed with disenchantment, so to speak, in both how book award recipients are chosen and how people decide to judge God.

    I’ve read two books I recall that had gotten reviewed well, had won awards… and were touted for spiritual themes… books that left me sort of flat even if there was a somewhat intriguing or familiar thought here or there in them. One of them was “Life of Pi”… but I haven’t seen the screen version yet. I’ve wondered whether I’ll get the purported profundity when I do see the movie. The other was “Middle Passage”… and if you have anything to say about either one, I’d like to know.

    As for passing judgment on God, even if not quite to decide there isn’t a God, a friend from high school, who would be only an acquaintance now, once came to visit me during the time in my life when I was bringing up my children in their youngest years. Turned out she happened to be mad at God. She told me this as if she was clearly justified to be so; after all, her grandmother had died.

    Her grandmother had been [not to mention doing the cleaning and other care of the home, laundry, mending, etc] the one to, as this prior friend made clear, bake, cook, or otherwise prepare all her meals, all lunches for school or work, and anything for her to bring to share at social gatherings. All this is what she decided God had deprived her of. Her grandmother had made life a lot easier for both this friend and her mother.

    Yet she looked down her nose at what I spent my time on. Hey, maybe I got it all wrong. Could it be she had come to make sure I knew that if I chose to do motherly things, then I would eventually die? I mean, poor Grandma had died. [Come to think of it, both of my grandmothers died too.] Well, I had made very nice cookies for her visit, which wasn’t a big deal… but she made it kinda a big deal in her way. She said, “I can’t see you spending your life making cookies.”

    Maybe she hated her grandmother and was angry God had let her out of her life sentence. No; as I recall, it was her absent father that she consciously despised. This is what I’ve found with other people, as well, who view themselves as thinking better than their maker or who think they can pull one on God. They seem to be or end up hypocrites with little if any impetus to improve on the way their parents did the things that bothered them.

  2. Onesimus says:

    Hi Marleen, The Tyndale biography was “If God Spare My Life” by Brian Moynahan.

  3. Marleen says:

    Hi, Onesimus. Thank you.

Comments are closed.