Does Genuine, Quality Christian Literature Exist?

During the first part of last year I read mostly Christian fiction. Most books were enjoyable,  one or two made me cringe with embarrassment.  I couldn’t say that any was of exceptional literary quality.

This year my year has started with a lot of “literary” fiction and in most cases there is a significantly higher quality of writing compared to last year’s Christian novels. So I need to ask:

Where is the quality, well-written, literary standard fiction written by Christians?

I want to find it.

I want to read it.

This entry was posted in books, Christian, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Does Genuine, Quality Christian Literature Exist?

  1. Alfred Lehtinen says:

    I guess the Bible has some nice Christian verse. I also enjoy Old English poetry which is highly influenced by Christianity. There are classics like The Divine Comedy and Paradise Lost, of course. “Corpus Christi Carol” is one of my favorite pieces related to Christianity: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fxtwyvZhHDM

    Don’t know a lot of contemporary fiction which focuses on Christianity, though. A lot of it still deals with Christianity in many aspects, I guess.

    • Onesimus says:

      Hi Alfred,
      Yes the Bible does have some very literary qualities but I regard scripture as something much more than literature. The problem I find with a lot of those old classics of “Christian” literature is that they are often based on the theology of the dominant church of the time – and then, sadly, have tended to colour public perception of religious belief. For example, Milton has perhaps been more influential in defining belief about “hell” than the bible has.

      At the moment I am more interested in finding Christian writers of quality who aim to provide something more than an enthralling story, whose writing skills could stand favourably alongside some of the “literary” authors I’ve been reading recently. The difference being, the writing would come from a Christian world view rather than that of atheists, agnostics or other religions.

      But by “Christian world view” I don’t mean they have to sprinkle their text with bible allusions or preachy messages – but their literary world would be one that recognises the reality of God, the creator and redeemer, even if He doesn’t make a “personal” appearance.

Comments are closed.