The Satanic Verses – finished at last!!!

It’s finally over. The last page is turned.

The Satanic Verses has bitten the dust.

It was like running a marathon, an endurance event, painful at times, needing gritty perserverance, but I got through its 547 sometimes tedious pages.

But at times it wasn’t so hard. Along the way there were a few refreshing sections to make some of the journey easier. And it DID feel good to read those last sentences.

It’s perhaps a book that would benefit from a second reading. But that’s a possibility I don’t intend to test, at least not in the short term. I’m sure I must have missed a lot of literary gems: jokes, cleverness and tricky wordplay that went over my head. Rushdie likes his language games – and cultural references that mostly missed their mark with this reader.

For me the problem was the lack of engagement with characters. It wasn’t until the end of the book that I found any emotional connection. Then there was one section that rang very true with a family face to face with death, so powerful and moving – maybe enhanced by the lack of emotion throughout the rest of the book.

But maybe I’m being unkind to Rushdie. Maybe  I missed an important point and it was ME and not the book that was off target. Whatever the situation, I’m now free to move onto something else and after two decades I finally have “I read The Satanic Verses” bragging rights.

satanicverses

This entry was posted in books, Salman Rushdie, The Satanic Verses and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Satanic Verses – finished at last!!!

  1. This is on my list of books to read! I read Midnight’s Children years ago and loved it. Congratulations on your freedom to move on to another book. I feel that way about War and Peace.

    • Onesimus says:

      I also read Midnight’s Children years ago – as part of a University course. I also loved that one. I don’t see The Satanic Verses as being in the same league (but that may be me). It had its moments, but mostly I found it a struggle to get through.

  2. Marleen says:

    Congratulations. Whew. I might never.

    • Onesimus says:

      One of the characters in the book was a mounaineer who conquered Everest. The old cliched reason for climbing mountains is “because it was there!”

      THAT is perhaps the best reason I can give for tackling this book. Its a kind of Everest for a bibliophile with an aversion to heights.

Comments are closed.